Tel: 08444 780898 Tel: 08444 780898

Scottish rockers GUN will release their best-of album ‘R3L0ADED’ later this autumn ahead of their Big 3-0 Tour with FM and Dan Reed Network.

Released on Friday 29th November via Silver Lining Music, ‘R3L0ADED’ is presented as a double album and contains 20 tracks split over two separate discs. 

The first disc on the album collates GUN’s biggest original songs from their three-decade career, and all of their studio albums from 1989’s ‘Taking On the World’ right up to 2017’s ‘Favourite Pleasures’. 

Guitarist Giuliano “Jools” Gizzi comments: “R3L0ADED is a collection of our best singles.  We wrote a bunch of songs – the best we could do and had no idea if they’d be successful or if people would connect with them. 

“They are the soundtrack to a lot of good times and bad.  Now, people come up to us to say how these songs have touched them or made an impact, however small, in their lives. In 1989, we WERE taking on the world. We still are.”
Frontman Dante Gizzi adds: “Taking On The World really put us on the map.  Thirty years ago, our dream was simply to sign a record deal, release an album and maybe go on tour, no more than that. So it’s great to recognise something which means so much to us, and also to the people who have stayed with us over the years.” 

The second disc features 10 cover songs including their chart-denting cover of Cameo’s ‘Word Up!’, which they won an MTV Europe Music Award for in the mid-nineties. 

The band have recorded new versions of ‘Every 1’s A Winner’ by Hot Chocolate favourite ‘(You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party)’ by The Beastie Boys, ‘Union City Blue’ by Blondie, ‘Rock The Casbah’ by The Clash, ‘Everybody Knows’ by Dixie Chicks, ‘Diamonds’ by Rihanna and ‘Take Me To Church’ by Hozier. 

Completing the disc are covers of Iggy Pop’s ‘Success’ and Stevie Wonder’s ‘Superstition’. Check out the newly premiered video for the latter here: 

Jools reveals: “These tracks are our favourite songs by acts we’ve grown up with.  But we tried not to pick the obvious ones. Our aim was to make heavy rock versions of these great songs.  It’s what we do.  It’s become one of our strengths both live and in the studio.”

Dante continues: “There are many people out there who still want to hear GUN… We have an incredibly loyal fan base, so we owe it to them – as well as ourselves – to keep shooting for goal. Everything is a challenge or a pressure… but it’s a good challenge or a good pressure.  We’ve never had it any other way.  You always want to march on.  But the feeling is that there is still so much more to be done.  We’re far from finished.  R3L0ADED is just the beginning… the start of a new chapter.”

The 'R3L0ADED' track-listing and artwork is as follows: 

Side A
1. Don’t Say It’s Over 
2. Better Days
3. Break the Silence 
4. Higher Ground 
5. Something Worthwhile 
6. Crazy You 
7. Take Me Down 
8. Steal Your Fire 
9. Favourite Pleasures 
10.Taking On The World 
Side B
1. (You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party) 
2. Every 1’s a Winner 
3. Superstition 
4. Union City Blue 
5. Word Up 
6. Success 
7. Rock the Kasbah
8. Take Me To Church 
9. Everybody Knows 
10. Diamonds 

Marking the 30th anniversary of their debut album ‘Taking On The World’, GUN are hitting the road on The Big 3-0 Tour in the run-up to Christmas with FM and Dan Reed Network

Tickets are on sale from Planet Rock Tickets now. 

See GUN at the following shows: 

Bristol O2 Academy – Mon 9th 
Southampton Engine Rooms – Tue 10th 
London O2 Shepherds Bush Empire – Wed 11th 
Wolverhampton KK’s Steel Mill – Fri 13th 
Norwich LCR UEA – Sat 14th 
Nottingham Rock City – Sun 15th 
Newcastle O2 Academy – Tue 17th 
Leeds O2 Academy – Wed 18th 
Manchester Academy 2 – Fri 20th 
Glasgow Barrowland – Sat 21st 

>> Click here to buy tickets <<

The Big 3-0 Tour poster