Tel: 08444 780898 Tel: 08444 780898
Stevie Nicks, Joe Elliott and Thom Yorke © REX/Shutterstock

The nominations for the 2019 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame have been revealed today (9th October).

Vying to be inducted next spring are Def Leppard, Stevie Nicks, The Zombies, Radiohead, The Cure, Todd Rundgren, Rage Against The Machine and MC5.

Completing the nominees are Devo, Roxy Music, Janet Jackson, John Prine, Kraftwerk, LL Cool J and Rufus featuring Chaka Khan.

The five inductees will be announced in December and they will then be inducted at a ceremony at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center on Friday 29th March 2019. The event will be broadcast on HBO at a later date.

A voting pool of more than 1,000 artists, historians, journalists and members of the music industry will select the new class, and for the sixth year running fans themselves can have a small say on the inductees - the “fan's ballot" will count as one of the ballots that decide the class of 2019.

Artists can only be nominated for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 25 years after the release of their first studio album.

Despite being eligible since 2005 – 25 years after their debut ‘On Through the Night’ – Def Leppard have picked up a nomination for the first time.

Nominated last year for the first time, heavy metal heroes Judas Priest have not made the shortlist for 2019.

Once again, despite being one of biggest and most influential heavy metal bands on the planet, Iron Maiden have been omitted from the shortlist. Still yet to pick up a nomination, Maiden have been eligible since 2005.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation was established by Atlantic Records founder Ahmet Ertegun on 20th April 1983 to honour artists who helped shape the history of rock n’ roll.

The 15 nominees are as follows:

Def Leppard
Janet Jackson
John Prine
LL Cool J
Rage Against the Machine
Roxy Music
Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
Stevie Nicks
The Cure
The Zombies
Todd Rundgren